top of page

Members We LOVE Profile: Sandra Strangemore, Strangemore Photo

I always tell the women in our collective - be sure to have a headshot on your business card. It's so much harder to throw away and so much easier to remember who you are. The response I get is..."I'm not there yet", or, "it feels a little self-absorbed"...

My response: "You just need the right peeps to help you through the process!"

Cut to Sandra.

Sandra and I met at a Brunch & Learn we had in our Toronto East branch not too long ago. Her amazing energy instantly drew me to her and since then we have had a few conversations about her, her successful photography business, and her ability to help others (especially women) create a stronger branding image. It wasn't long before we decided that Sandra should really be one of the Members We LOVE! We are thrilled to have Sandra join the tribe, and even MORE excited for her upcoming photo shoot with our east branch. Deets on that are below - but for now, we'll share our interview with the lovely Sandra here.

1. Describe your business/career/what you do in a few sentences.

I have been a pro photographer for 30 years. I work with people in both their professional and personal lives. I create images for the public persona as well as for their family legacy.

2. What ignited the spark in you to start your business venture or to make significant changes in an existing business? How did the idea for your business come about?

I was very fortunate to know since I was a teenager that I wanted to be a photographer. Since then my career has seen me wear many hats… from adventure sports photographer - to family and wedding photographer - to magazine and editorial photographer - to where I am now… creating customized branding images for people, their business’ and websites. It’s been a big adventure with constant evolution.

3. What sets you apart from other entrepreneurs/companies in your line of work?

What sets me apart is my experience. I have been commissioned to photograph everything from newly hatched chicks to King’s (2 of them to be exact). I am equally comfortable working in my studio, as well as on location. Through facial analysis, my portrait subjects are lit with the most flattering of studio light for them. It’s all customized!

4. What would you say are the top three skills needed to be a successful entrepreneur/ business?

Expertise in your industry. An understanding of business, marketing and those processes. Perseverance.

5. What accomplishment are you most proud of? (either for you as an entrepreneur, or your company)

What makes me most proud is when my clients are blown away with the work I have done for them. I get giddy when they tell me that it is the best portrait that they have ever had taken of them.

6. How have you changed since becoming a successful entrepreneur?

Before launching my business over 20 years ago, I was in the cycle of my employers laying me off and rehiring for the slow/busy seasons. I felt that I had no control over my work life. Since starting my business, when things get slow, I know that it is up to me to get busy and be in control of my schedule and work. Ironically… I have more job security than most “employed” people I know.

We are thrilled to have Sandra as a Member We LOVE and helping our other members with their photography and branding! If you're reading this thinking - "Man, now I feel like I really need a headshot" - then check this out:

Sandra is working with our Branch Director Cherene Francis from Aura Image Consulting, and another Member We LOVE, Merandra Brown from RandyMakeup on this awesome event that will give our members a style consultation, gorgeous makeup, and a fabulous shot for a very small fee!

In Happiness & Health,

Natalie Colalillo

bottom of page